Škampovo kvarteto

Škampa Quartet started its successful art career in March 1989 at the Prague AMU under the guidance of professors Antonín Kohout and Milan Škampa, members of the legendary Smetanovo Quartet.  Their mastership was supported by internships at Scuola di Musica di Fiesole with Pierro Farulliho from Quartetto Italiano, with members of Amadeus Quartet, Waltera Levina from Quartet LaSalle, and others.
Following several awards in international chamber music competitions they were awarded the first prize at the prestigeous competition of Charles Hennen in Dutch Heerlen. In 1993, following a successful performance in London Wingmore Hall, the quartet was awarded the prize of the Royal Philharmonic society, the Best Debut award. In October the following year, the ensemble became the first residence quartet in the history of Wigmore Hall, where they performed tens of concerts during 1994 to 1998.
The quartet performs in Europe, Japan, North and South America, Mexico and Australia. On a regular basis, the quartet performs at musical centers across the world, such as London Wigmore Hall, Concertgebow Amesterdam, Paris theatre Chatelet, Vienna Musikverein, Lincoln Centre and Cargegie Hall in New York, Suntory Hall in Tokio or Dvořák's Hall in Prague Rudolfinum. Many renowned artists cooperate with the Škampovo Quartet, such as Josef Suk, Janine Jansen, Kathryn Scott, Michael Collins, Itamar Golan, Melvyn Tan and many others.
Their CD recorded with both Janaček's Quartets was awarded the Harmony Prize for the best recording of 2001 in the chamber music category. The same prize was awarded the following year to the CD with modern interpretation of both Bedřich Smetana's quartets. Their ”BBC Lunchtime Concert” with MelvynTane was selected as the first CDE in the series of recordings ”Live from Wigmore Hall” for the ”BBC World Label” publishing.
Besides master courses for Wigmore Hall, Concertgebow Amsterdam, University of Mexico City and many other institutions or music festivals, they cooperate namely with the London Royal Academy of Music, where they have been named the hosting professors for chamber music, department of strings, in September 2001. 


Škampovo kvarteto:

Helena Jiříkovská – violin

Daniela Součková – violin

Radim Sedmidubský – viola

Lukáš Polák - cello 



© Indies Scope

IČ 105 34 181     /     Dolní Loučky 191     /     594 55  Dolní Loučky u Brna